FLWO Tillinghast 60-inch Observing Schedule
September-December 2018 (as of 10 September 2018)

Tillinghast Schedule for the Month of September 2018 (as of 10 September 2018)

August September October November December January 2019 Programs Mt. Hopkins PDF Schedules TDC Telescope log
DATE         MOON  INST    OBSERVER    PI AND PROGRAM   MMT
Sep  1 Sat   0.58  TRES    PB          TRES Combo       ---
Sep  2 Sun   0.47  "       "           "                ---
Sep  3 Mon   0.36  "       MC          "                ---    LABOR DAY
Sep  4 Tue   0.26  FAST    "           FAST Combo       ---
Sep  5 Wed   0.16  "       "           "                ---
Sep  6 Thu   0.08  "       PB          "                ---
Sep  7 Fri   0.03  "       "           "                ---
Sep  8 Sat   0.00  "       MC          "                ---
Sep  9 Sun   0.01  "       "           "                ---
Sep 10 Mon   0.03  "       "           "                ---
Sep 11 Tue   0.09  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 12 Wed   0.16  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 13 Thu   0.24  TRES    GE          TRES Combo       --- 
Sep 14 Fri   0.33  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 15 Sat   0.43  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 16 Sun   0.53  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 17 Mon   0.62  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 18 Tue   0.71  "       "           "                --- 
Sep 19 Wed   0.79  "       PB          "                ---
Sep 20 Thu   0.86  "       "           "                ---
Sep 21 Fri   0.92  "       MC          "                ---
Sep 22 Sat   0.96  "       "           "                ---
Sep 23 Sun   0.99  "       "           "                ---
Sep 24 Mon   1.00  "       PB          "                ---
Sep 25 Tue   0.98  "       "           "                ---
Sep 26 Wed   0.95  "       MC          "                ---
Sep 27 Thu   0.89  "       "           "                ---
Sep 28 Fri   0.81  "       "           "                ---
Sep 29 Sat   0.72  "       GE          "                ---
Sep 30 Sun   0.62  "       "           "                ---

** MOON IS FRACTIONAL MOON ILLUMINATION AT MIDDLE OF NIGHT 
**** DATE IS STANDARD TIME AT START OF NIGHT 
SEP Fast Combo (program & effective nights): (8 nights)
Brown 178 (merging WDs) 2 nights, MacLeod 229 (Mkn 110) 0.5 night, Blanchard 225 (SLSNes, TDEs) 0.5 night, Kenyon 12 (Symbiotic) 0.5 night, Falco 141 (2MASS) 1 night, Kirshner 2 (SN) 4 nights.
NOTE: Projects are listed in order of decreasing priority per their TAC grades. Rare TOO targets (GRBs, XRNs) have highest priority.

TRES IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please check with Dave Latham before the start of the trimester to coordinate your observations.

TRES for trimester
Medina 211 (Halpha var.) 6 nights, Winters 198 (mid-M Dwarfs) 7 nights, Zhou 212 (Nep & Jup) 6 nights, Quinn 206 (Hot Jupiters) 5 nights, Irwin 183 (MEarth follow-up) 3 nights, Carmichael 213 (Brown dwarf desert) 4 nights, Latham 12 (Transiting planets) 15 nights, Dupree 214 (Betelgeuse) 1 night, Latham 186 (Spec K2) 7 nights, Quinn 199 (Giant planets) 4 nights, Douglas 209 (Companions) 5 nights, Dupree 207 (Binaries) 1 night, Latham 204 (Self-lensing) 2 nights, Torres 15 (Eclipsing binaries) 18 nights, Torres 6 (Pleiades survey) 6 nights.

Tillinghast Schedule for the Month of October 2018 (as of 10 September 2018)

August September October November December January 2019 Programs Mt. Hopkins PDF Schedules TDC Telescope log
DATE         MOON  INST    OBSERVER    PI AND PROGRAM   MMT
Oct  1 Mon   0.51  TRES    GE          TRES Combo       ---
Oct  2 Tue   0.39  "       "           "                ---
Oct  3 Wed   0.28  "       "           "                ---
Oct  4 Thu   0.19  "       "           "                PB/HS
Oct  5 Fri   0.10  "       "           "                "
Oct  6 Sat   0.04  "       "           "                MC/HS
Oct  7 Sun   0.01  "       "           "                "
Oct  8 Mon   0.00  "       "           "                ---   COLUMBUS
DAY
Oct  9 Tue   0.02  FAST    PB          FAST Combo       ---
Oct 10 Wed   0.06  "       "           "                ---
Oct 11 Thu   0.11  "       MC          "                ---
Oct 12 Fri   0.18  "       "           "                ---
Oct 13 Sat   0.27  "       "           "                ---
Oct 14 Sun   0.36  "       "           "                ---
Oct 15 Mon   0.45  "       "           "                ---
Oct 16 Tue   0.54  TRES    GE          TRES Combo       ---
Oct 17 Wed   0.64  "       "           "                ---
Oct 18 Thu   0.72  "       "           "                PB/HC
Oct 19 Fri   0.81  "       "           "                "
Oct 20 Sat   0.88  "       "           "                MC/HC
Oct 21 Sun   0.94  "       "           "                "
Oct 22 Mon   0.97  "       "           "                "
Oct 23 Tue   1.00  "       "           "                "
Oct 24 Wed   0.99  "       "           "                ---
Oct 25 Thu   0.97  "       "           "                ---
Oct 26 Fri   0.92  "       MC          "                ---
Oct 27 Sat   0.84  "       "           "                ---
Oct 28 Sun   0.75  "       "           "                ---
Oct 29 Mon   0.65  "       PB          "                ---
Oct 30 Tue   0.54  "       "           "                ---
Oct 31 Wed   0.42  "       MC          "                ---


** MOON IS FRACTIONAL MOON ILLUMINATION AT MIDDLE OF NIGHT 
**** DATE IS STANDARD TIME AT START OF NIGHT 
OCT Fast Combo (program & effective nights): (7 nights)
Brown 178 (merging WDs) 2 nights, MacLeod 229 (Mkn 110) 0.5 night, Blanchard 225 (SLSNes, TDEs) 0.5 night, Kenyon 12 (Symbiotic) 0.5 night, Falco 141 (2MASS) 1 night, Kirshner 2 (SN) 4 nights.
NOTE: Projects are listed in order of decreasing priority per their TAC grades. Rare TOO targets (GRBs, XRNs) have highest priority.

TRES IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please check with Dave Latham before the start of the trimester to coordinate your observations.

TRES for trimester
Medina 211 (Halpha var.) 6 nights, Winters 198 (mid-M Dwarfs) 7 nights, Zhou 212 (Nep & Jup) 6 nights, Quinn 206 (Hot Jupiters) 5 nights, Irwin 183 (MEarth follow-up) 3 nights, Carmichael 213 (Brown dwarf desert) 4 nights, Latham 12 (Transiting planets) 15 nights, Dupree 214 (Betelgeuse) 1 night, Latham 186 (Spec K2) 7 nights, Quinn 199 (Giant planets) 4 nights, Douglas 209 (Companions) 5 nights, Dupree 207 (Binaries) 1 night, Latham 204 (Self-lensing) 2 nights, Torres 15 (Eclipsing binaries) 18 nights, Torres 6 (Pleiades survey) 6 nights.

Tillinghast Schedule for the Month of November 2018 (as of 10 September 2018)

August September October November December January 2019 Programs Mt. Hopkins PDF Schedules TDC Telescope log
DATE         MOON  INST    OBSERVER    PI AND PROGRAM   MMT
Nov  1 Thu   0.31  TRES    MC          TRES Combo       ---
Nov  2 Fri   0.21  "       "           "                ---
Nov  3 Sat   0.13  "       PB          "                ---
Nov  4 Sun   0.07  "       "           "                ---
Nov  5 Mon   0.02  "       MC          "                ---
Nov  6 Tue   0.00  "       "           "                ---
Nov  7 Wed   0.01  "       "           "                ---
Nov  8 Thu   0.03  FAST    Macri       FAST Combo       ---
Nov  9 Fri   0.07  "       "           "                PB/HS
Nov 10 Sat   0.13  "       "           "                "
Nov 11 Sun   0.20  "       "           "                MC/HS   VETERANS DAY
Nov 12 Mon   0.28  "       MC          "                ---
Nov 13 Tue   0.37  "       "           "                ---
Nov 14 Wed   0.46  "       "           "                ---
Nov 15 Thu   0.56  TRES    GE          TRES Combo       ---
Nov 16 Fri   0.65  "       "           "                ---
Nov 17 Sat   0.74  "       "           "                ---
Nov 18 Sun   0.82  "       "           "                ---
Nov 19 Mon   0.89  "       "           "                ---
Nov 20 Tue   0.95  "       "           "                ---
Nov 21 Wed   0.99  "       MC          "                ---
Nov 22 Thu   1.00  "       "           "                ---     THANKSGIVING
Nov 23 Fri   0.98  "       "           "                ---
Nov 24 Sat   0.94  "       PB          "                ---
Nov 25 Sun   0.88  "       "           "                ---
Nov 26 Mon   0.79  "       MC          "                ---
Nov 27 Tue   0.69  "       "           "                ---
Nov 28 Wed   0.57  "       "           "                ---
Nov 29 Thu   0.46  "       PB          "                ---
Nov 30 Fri   0.35  "       "           "                ---

** MOON IS FRACTIONAL MOON ILLUMINATION AT MIDDLE OF NIGHT 
**** DATE IS STANDARD TIME AT START OF NIGHT 
NOV Fast Combo (program & effective nights): (7 nights)
Brown 178 (merging WDs) 2 nights, MacLeod 229 (Mkn 110) 0.5 night, Blanchard 225 (SLSNes, TDEs) 0.5 night, Kenyon 12 (Symbiotic) 0.5 night, Falco 141 (2MASS) 1 night, Kirshner 2 (SN) 4 nights.
NOTE: Projects are listed in order of decreasing priority per their TAC grades. Rare TOO targets (GRBs, XRNs) have highest priority.

TRES IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please check with Dave Latham before the start of the trimester to coordinate your observations.

TRES for trimester
Medina 211 (Halpha var.) 6 nights, Winters 198 (mid-M Dwarfs) 7 nights, Zhou 212 (Nep & Jup) 6 nights, Quinn 206 (Hot Jupiters) 5 nights, Irwin 183 (MEarth follow-up) 3 nights, Carmichael 213 (Brown dwarf desert) 4 nights, Latham 12 (Transiting planets) 15 nights, Dupree 214 (Betelgeuse) 1 night, Latham 186 (Spec K2) 7 nights, Quinn 199 (Giant planets) 4 nights, Douglas 209 (Companions) 5 nights, Dupree 207 (Binaries) 1 night, Latham 204 (Self-lensing) 2 nights, Torres 15 (Eclipsing binaries) 18 nights, Torres 6 (Pleiades survey) 6 nights.

Tillinghast Schedule for the Month of December 2018 (as of 10 September 2018)

August September October November December January 2019 Programs Mt. Hopkins PDF Schedules TDC Telescope log

DATE         MOON  INST    OBSERVER    PI AND PROGRAM   MMT  
Dec  1 Sat   0.25  TRES    MC          "                ---
Dec  2 Sun   0.16  "       "           "                ---
Dec  3 Mon   0.09  "       "           "                ---
Dec  4 Tue   0.04  FAST    Brown       FAST Combo       ---
Dec  5 Wed   0.01  "       "           "                ---
Dec  6 Thu   0.00  "       "           "                ---
Dec  7 Fri   0.01  "       "           "                ---
Dec  8 Sat   0.04  "       MC          "                ---
Dec  9 Sun   0.08  "       "           "                ---
Dec 10 Mon   0.14  "       "           "                ---
Dec 11 Tue   0.21  "       XX          "                ---
Dec 12 Wed   0.29  TRES    GE          TRES Combo       ---
Dec 13 Thu   0.38  "       "           "                ---
Dec 14 Fri   0.47  "       "           "                ---
Dec 15 Sat   0.57  "       "           "                ---
Dec 16 Sun   0.67  "       "           "                ---
Dec 17 Mon   0.76  "       "           "                ---
Dec 18 Tue   0.84  "       MC          "                ---
Dec 19 Wed   0.92  "       "           "                ---
Dec 20 Thu   0.97  "       "           "                ---
Dec 21 Fri   1.00  "       GE          "                ---
Dec 22 Sat   0.99  "       "           "                ---
Dec 23 Sun   0.96  "       "           "                ---
Dec 24 Mon   0.91  "       "           "                ---
Dec 25 Tue   0.82  "       --          Closed           ---      CHRISTMAS DAY
Dec 26 Wed   0.72  "       GE          TRES Combo       ---
Dec 27 Thu   0.61  "       "           "                ---
Dec 28 Fri   0.50  "       "           "                ---
Dec 29 Sat   0.40  "       MC          "                ---
Dec 30 Sun   0.29  "       "           "                ---
Dec 31 Mon   0.20  "       "           "                ---

** MOON IS FRACTIONAL MOON ILLUMINATION AT MIDDLE OF NIGHT 
**** DATE IS STANDARD TIME AT START OF NIGHT 
Fast Combo (program & effective nights): (8 nights)
Brown 178 (merging WDs) 2 nights, MacLeod 229 (Mkn 110) 0.5 night, Blanchard 225 (SLSNes, TDEs) 0.5 night, Kenyon 12 (Symbiotic) 0.5 night, Falco (2MASS) 141 1 night, Kirshner 2 (SN) 4 nights.
NOTE: Projects are listed in order of decreasing priority per their TAC grades. Rare TOO targets (GRBs, XRNs) have highest priority.

TRES IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please check with Dave Latham before the start of the trimester to coordinate your observations.

TRES for trimester
Medina 211 (Halpha var.) 6 nights, Winters 198 (mid-M Dwarfs) 7 nights, Zhou 212 (Nep & Jup) 6 nights, Quinn 206 (Hot Jupiters) 5 nights, Irwin 183 (MEarth follow-up) 3 nights, Carmichael 213 (Brown dwarf desert) 4 nights, Latham 12 (Transiting planets) 15 nights, Dupree 214 (Betelgeuse) 1 night, Latham 186 (Spec K2) 7 nights, Quinn 199 (Giant planets) 4 nights, Douglas 209 (Companions) 5 nights, Dupree 207 (Binaries) 1 night, Latham 204 (Self-lensing) 2 nights, Torres 15 (Eclipsing binaries) 18 nights, Torres 6 (Pleiades survey) 6 nights.

Tillinghast Proposal Summary September-December 2018 (as of 10 September 2018)

August September October November December January 2019 Programs PDF Schedules TDC Telescope log

FAST Programs

PIProgramTitleDarkGrayBright
Robert Kirshner2Supernova Spectroscopy with FAST1200
Scott Kenyon12Optical Spectra of Symbiotic Stars200
Emilio Falco141Cosmography of the Innermost Zone of Avoidance with the 2MASS Redshift Survey400
Warren Brown178Merging White Dwarfs700
Peter Blanchard225Spectroscopic and Photometric Follow-up of SLSNe and TDEs from PSST300
Chelsea MacLeod229 Decoding the Structure and Dynamics of MKN 110's Broad Line Region110

TRES Programs

M Dwarfs
PIProgramTitleDarkGrayBright
600
Guillermo Torres006Pleiades binary survey006
Dave Latham013Transiting Planet Candidate Follow-Up - 60 inch0510
Jonathan Irwin183MEarth Spectroscopic Follow-up021
Dave Latham186Spectroscopic follow-up of K2 Planet Candidates052
Guillermo Torres192Eclipsing binaries0018
Jennifer Winters198Characterizing the Nearby Mid-M Dwarfs with TRES700
Sam Quinn199Giant Planets in Open Clusters004
Dave Latham204Self-Lensing Binary Candidates020
Sam Quinn206Hot Jupiters, Formed In Situ203
Andrea Dupree207Seeking Common-Envelope Binaries001
Stephanie Douglas209The impact of companions on stellar rotational evolution050
Amber Medina211Characterizing Halpha Variability as a Function of Rotation Period and Mass for Mid-to-Late
George Zhou212Neptunes and Jupiters around early-type stars600
Theron Carmichael213New candidate members of the brown dwarf desert022
Andrea Dupree214Betelgeuse: The Enigma001